Sagarmatha National park

Sagarmatha National park  ( SNP ), declared in 1976, is in north-east Nepal and covers 1,148 sq. km of the Himalayan ecological zone in the Khumbu region of Nepal. The mountains of the park are geologically young and are broken up by gorges and glacial valleys. The prime attraction, the 8848m-high Mount Everest in the park, which is also home to two other eight thousanders Peaks – Mt, Lhotese and Cho Oyu – besides several other prominent peaks above 6,000 m, namely Thamserku,Nuptse, Ama dablam and Pumori. The park includes the upper catchment area of the Dudh Koshi and Bhote Koshi rivers and is largely composed of rugged terrain with deep gorges,glaciers and huge rocks.

Facts Sheets :

Total Area : 1,148 sq. km

Elevation of SNP, 2300 – 8848 m    

Total population and major caste groups -5869 only, according to census 2002.

Sherpa, Rai and Tamang.

Economy -Tourism, agriculture, animal husbandry, trade and  mountaineering.

Major tree species – Pine,Hemlok,Fir,Juniper and Birch.

Major Birds – Himalayan Monal and Blood Pheasant.

Major Glaciers – Khumbu,Imja,Ngojumpa and Nangpa.

Main mamals – Snow Leopard, Musk dear and red Panda.

Listed in world heritage site -1979 (Natural site )

Ramsar declaration ( 2007 )

Gokyo and associated Lakes .

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *